Fix users that don’t login in SliTaz

I run a separate /home partition on the Toshiba (on all my installs) so I retain my data if/when I blow away the root / partitions. So in this case I installed SliTaz and added back my users with adduser but they couldn’t login with Slim with Slim reporting various errors in /var/log/slim.log

Fix as follows:-

You’ll need bash for this to handle the .config files etc.


$ su -
# cp /root/.xinitrc /home/<user>
# shopt -s dotglob
# cp -r /etc/skel/* /home/<user>
# chown -R <user>:<user> /home/<user>

That should allow the login to work. If not then check back with the log file in /var/log/slim.log looking for stuff around .xinitrc not working etc. (ie you can probably ignore the EE errors of X)

Leave a Reply

