The old Toshiba?

Well the Toshiba is proving to be a bit of a problem. It’s an old Toshiba Portege 7140, Pentium III 500Mhz, 192 MHz RAM. I like the machine even though it’s underpowered, it’s a poor mans Netbook if you like.

The problem with it at the moment is the current crop of Distros and the XOrg platform and drivers. It seems to have broken the framebuffer driver for me. I used to get by with the xorg-server-video-fbdev frame buffer device. The Trident driver has never seem to work for me and the same goes for the VESA driver so I’m left with the lowest common denominator in the vanilla frame buffer driver.

So with no luck on the current distros (Debian Lenny, Gentoo 2010ish, Arch and Ubuntu Karmic) I’ve gone back to Ubuntu 8.04 LTS Hardy and did a CLI install from the Alternate CD (one of the F? key options at the first install screen). So with a minimal install I grabbed U-Lite and dropped that on along with an install of Google Chrome unstable. It’s not as fast as I’d like to boot but it’s reliable and gets me to a browser session within a minute or so and it’s lightweight enough so it’s practical to use.

Happy again šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

